Arsenal FC Weekly Podcast 4: Season Preview + Chat with Arseblogger

Hello again Arsenal FC Bloggers.

It’s the return of the Arsenal FC Weekly podcast today and I’m joined in the studio by regular Panda Bear as well as special guest Arseblogger to preview the 2009/10 season. We discuss the quality of the squad, Arsenal’s chances for next season as well as preview the first game of the season against Everton and the Champions League qualifier against Celtic.

As usual I’d love to hear your feedback and ideas and you can do so by leaving a comment on this post or by contacting me at admin [at] arsenalfcblog [dot] com.

I’ll be back tomorrow with a written post but until then, enjoy the podcast and have a lovely Monday.

Have your say on the Arsenal FC Weekly Season Preview podcast by leaving a comment.

, ,

26 Responses to “Arsenal FC Weekly Podcast 4: Season Preview + Chat with Arseblogger”

  1. radads
    August 10, 2009 at 7:36 pm #

    Hi SF, little sad about our performance against Valencia, Divid Villa really hitted hard!!
    I have to admit that, Im really convinced now that Song wont be good enough to cover the CDM job, we definetly need a stronger man to cover that job if we want to win any silverware this season,plus the fact that Song is also going to Angola for a month early next year.We really lack depth on our game.We also need a back up FB defender and may be a striker.
    My best line up agst everton is:

    Sagna-Gallas-Vermalen-Clichy
    ———Song–Deni———
    Walcott——Fab——–Arshavin
    ————-RVP————-

  2. radads
    August 10, 2009 at 7:43 pm #

    If we can get a single stronger man to cover Song and Deni’s job then it would be our best option or may be hopefully Song could cover it alone then I would go like this.

    Sagna-Gallas-Vermalen-Clichy
    ———–Song———-
    Wilshere—Fab——–Arshavin
    ——–Walcott–RVP—-

  3. Anonymous
    August 10, 2009 at 7:51 pm #

    Tell Panda Bear to stop breathing into the microphone when he’s not speaking; very off-putting…

  4. Tom14
    August 10, 2009 at 7:55 pm #

    Denilson is our defensive midfielder. Please just accept that and move on with your lives.

  5. Ole Gunner
    August 10, 2009 at 7:59 pm #

    I think the 4-4-2 & 4-2-3-1 are very more adapted to the players we have.

    4-3-3, if played properly the Barca way would leave us even more vulnerable and dependent on the perfect form of the centre backs.

    I’d prefer to have our creative players lined up high up the field with two “holding midfielders” sitting deep.

  6. Tom14
    August 10, 2009 at 8:00 pm #

    Against the “top” teams we will play a 4213 with Denilson and Song I suppose, but against the more crap teams, we will play a more attacking player in place of Song.

  7. Andy
    August 10, 2009 at 8:04 pm #

    @ Anon – He was feeling sick man, give him a break.

  8. Renan
    August 10, 2009 at 8:23 pm #

    Our formation while Rosicky and Nasri are injured will be…

    Almunia
    Sagna, Gallas, Vermaelen, Clichy
    Walcott, Cesc, Denilson, Arshavin
    van Persie, Eduardo

  9. Xabier
    August 10, 2009 at 8:36 pm #

    4-3-3 people

    Almunia
    Sagna, Gallas, Vermaelen, Clichy
    Cesc, Denilson, Song
    van Persie, Eduardo, Arshavin

  10. Andy
    August 10, 2009 at 8:53 pm #

    Wow it’s all formations today. How did people enjoy the podcast?

  11. PB
    August 10, 2009 at 9:32 pm #

    I’m deeply concerned about our lack of quality signings. This Premier League can only be won with a strong defensive team (check the history) and we are so weak in this area. Gallas is a great player but his heart will be elsewhere given last season’s events and his desire to leave Arsenal at the end of his contract. Vermaelen is already injured, Djourou is still a novice and Silvestra is frankly too slow and probably past it. In the short term Hangeland is the only answer!

  12. fidelis golubo ayebamiete
    August 10, 2009 at 9:40 pm #

    well i say is a pety for the aresenal football too day, is not the aresenal i know before, what is realy happening. i want to know what wrong with aresenal football.

  13. KURUPT
    August 10, 2009 at 9:52 pm #

    nice job on the pod cast enjoyed it.

  14. SOBIN THE GUNNER
    August 10, 2009 at 10:19 pm #

    We have to sign atleast 2 more experienced players before the season starts.

  15. rosicknote
    August 10, 2009 at 10:34 pm #

    Congratulations for making it through rocky’s newsnow filter! I reckon this is a 1st for non-UK sites

  16. Andy
    August 10, 2009 at 10:34 pm #

    @ KURUPT – Thanks man. Good stuff.

  17. White Ox
    August 10, 2009 at 10:35 pm #

    You do realise you just interviewed Arsenal blogging royalty just now? That bloke is a riot (Although he didn’t swear nearly as much as usual, Mamma Bear was listening?). Absolutely outstanding work today.

    Personally I’m not so much woried about the Everton result as I am the Celtic tie. I know we as supporters have been spoilt by CL football every season but I love those matches the most and I think it would be a hammer blow to a young side’s confidence.

    I also believe now we’ll see a signing before the window closes but it will be awful close to the deadline and I’m not sure it will be the experienced player arseblogger craves. Any signing made will not be thrust into the first XI straight up, it’s not the Wenger way, but so long as they are of the requisite quality it won’t bother me a bit.

    Never mind, these are the issues that make the new season so exciting. Just let Panda know if he tries to find somewhere to watch the match at midnight he’ll have plenty of time, what with kick off at 2:30am Australian EST. Lets go you gunners!

  18. Andy
    August 10, 2009 at 10:36 pm #

    @ rosicknote – I made it through? Really? How did that happen?

  19. jay-jay
    August 10, 2009 at 11:11 pm #

    Regarding the Celtic tie. Celtic Park is very loud and intimidating but no more intimidating than Anfield or Fenerbahces ground and we have won there (Fenerbahce with a young side), So I am hopeful. They are more physical than we are and thats when we struggle. A 1-0 loss inst all bad but a draw or a win is very possible as we will finish them off at the Emirates.

  20. billi_the_kid
    August 11, 2009 at 1:28 am #

    I enjoyed the podcast too and just can agree with ‘just wait and see’

  21. GetGunMN
    August 11, 2009 at 3:55 am #

    Thank god there are some positive notes today. Boy, everyone was thinking of gloom and doom yesteday. I didn’t see the game against Valencia, but I gather our boys had an off day.

    I just can’t wait until the season starts. We will learn who makes it to the first 11 and how effective they are. Then there is plenty of time left for Wenger to buy if he needs to. Most of all, we all have a chance to put our 2 cents in. So please guys hang in there!

  22. shambogunner
    August 11, 2009 at 4:11 am #

    cant see us buying any1 now with first game looming and no time for new arrivals to settle… everton will be a goood yard stick to guage where we are as they will be well up for it and are strong in the areas i,personally, feel wer lacking,ie physicality and setplays.if we can go there and get 3pts on the 1st day then i will believe we hav turned the corner
    heres hoping….cant wait for KO now

  23. Tom14
    August 11, 2009 at 6:03 am #

    We are good enough when you compare our squad to others, but what matters is the results on the pitch. This squad is more than capable, they just need to prove it.

  24. butterfingers
    August 11, 2009 at 10:07 am #

    Fulham have said 15 mill for hangland and maybe thats why senderos hasn’t gone yet. We really should buy hangland and keep sendy as well but we all know thats not going to happen. Don’t think we need chakmah but it’s a bit rich from arsne saying he will get him for free next season than pay the money as man citeh could of done the same with toure. I can’t wait for the season to kick off but trust our 1st game to be the arvo one as I’ll be staying up till 2.30 now to watch it.

  25. Senior Citizen
    August 12, 2009 at 12:08 am #

    Guys, my only worry is going into the season with the lineup that we have right now. I am not undermining the quality of the players that we have, but my main concern is experience of DM and the guy playing Kolo’s no. We realy need quality in this two areas. in other words, entering into the season with the team that we have rightnow is my nightmare. We look forward to AW whom we are all loyal to.

  26. solomon
    August 12, 2009 at 9:52 am #

    i beleive in me dat wenger schoolboy wil bring silverware to emirate dis season

Leave a Reply

COMMENTS POLICY

1. Think before you write.

2. Be tolerant.

3. Stay relevant.

4. If in doubt, remember Bertrand.